Newly elected lawmakers to take oath Thursday

Dhaka: The newly-elected lawmakers to the parliament will be sworn in on Thursday as the Jatiya Sangsad (JS) Secretariat is now taking preparation to hold the oath taking ceremony.

‘The newly elected parliament members are going to be sworn in tomorrow,’ said Election Commission (EC) Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed, reports the BSS.

He said the EC has published the gazette containing the names and addresses of candidates of 298 constituencies, adding that the gazette has already been sent to JS Secretariat.

The Election Commission (EC) yesterday published the results of the 11th Jatiya Sangsad (JS) election through issuing a gazette notification.

The polling was held between 8:00am and 4:00pm peacefully amid a festivity in 299 seats out of total 300 on Sunday last as voting in Gaibandha-3 constituency was suspended due to death of a candidate earlier.

However, the results of Brahmanbaria-2 constituency was postponed as voting in three centres of the constituency was suspended.

According to the polls results, Awami League bagged 259 seats, HM Ershad-led Jatiya Party secured 20 seats while BNP got just five seats.

Workers Party bagged three seats while Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal two seats, Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh two seats and Tariqat Federation one seat.

Gonoforum bagged two seats while Manju-led Jatiya Party (JP) one seat and independent candidates got three seats.